Sunday Class Series: Jnana & Ajnana Bhumikas

The 14 Stages of Knowledge and Ignorance

Sundays, May 5th, May 12th   (zoom link)

2:30p HST; 5:30p PDT; 8:30pm EDT (new daylight times)

Register to attend in person (Big Island, HI)

Leading the soul up and out of the suffering-ridden nightmare of limited existence, then beyond a mere worldly life of pleasure mixed with karmic accrual, are teachings such as the Seven Stages of Wisdom, or Seven Levels of Higher Knowledge.  This teaching is as old as the Upanisads, and was a favorite tool of the seer, Lord Vasishtha, for helping to enlighten serious aspirants.

     Called Jnana Bhumikas in Sanskrit, or “grounds for true knowledge,” these seven stages are rendered more complete if the lesser known Ajnana Bhumikas, seven levels of ignorance, are also taken up alongside them.  Coming to know just how a benighted soul awakens to heights of spiritual enlightenment over time, even over lifetimes, fills in wide gaps in our understanding of the subtle dynamics of the transmigrating soul.